Promise tracker

Tracking delivery on manifesto promises

This record covers testable commitments extracted from published manifestos. Each assessment links to its source evidence and can be challenged.

Promises tracked

235

Assessment coverage

234 of 235 (100%)

Unassessed promises are shown separately and are never excluded from the total.

Latest automated assessment

4 Sept 2026

Assessments are not editorial endorsements.

Manifesto scope

Showing NPP 2024. Choose a manifesto to see an assessment in context.

Open manifesto

Delivery summary

Of 234 assessed promises: 8 delivered, 34 partly delivered, 184 under way, 5 stalled, and 3 not delivered.

Scope: NPP 2024

Refine this list

Promises

12 results · Partly delivered · Policy & Legislation

What the labels mean
Delivered
Delivered substantially as promised.
Partly delivered
Partly delivered, or delivered in a weakened form.
Under way
Underway, with visible progress but no outcome yet.
Stalled
Started or announced, then stopped moving.
Not delivered
Abandoned, reversed, or acted against.
Not assessed
Extracted from the manifesto but not yet assessed.
Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-191

Strengthen anti-dumping laws, introduce new fair-trading laws, and update existing regulations.

Why this status: The anti-dumping and regulatory-update parts have moved beyond an announcement: 2025 regulations set procedures for initiating anti-dumping investigations and price undertakings, and Cabinet approved their submission to Parliament to protect local industries from dumped or subsidized imports. But no official evidence found shows a new fair-trading law being introduced or enacted. The pledge therefore has a substantive delivered component, but not its full legislative package.

2 evidence sources · doc.gov.lk, cabinetoffice.gov.lk · latest 26 May 2025Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 2 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (2)

  • Gazette27 Mar 2025
    Gazette Extraordinary No. 2429/32 of 27 March 2025 issued the Procedure for Price Undertakings Regulations 2025 under the Anti-Dumping and Countervailing Duties Act No. 2 of 2018.
  • Official release26 May 2025
    On 26 May 2025, Cabinet approved submitting the 2025 anti-dumping investigation and price-undertakings regulations to Parliament, stating their purpose was to safeguard local industries and entrepreneurs from dumped and subsidized imports.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-190

Amend the import policy by considering the importance of the protection of local production, assurance of food security, ease of accessing raw materials for production, priority for essential goods and investment goods and competitive access to imports.

Why this status: There is material but incomplete delivery. The Government introduced a 2026 tariff schedule with national levies effective from 1 April 2026, following the budget proposal to move Customs Import Duty bands to 0%, 10%, 20% and 30% and phase out para-tariffs. This is a real import-policy change relevant to access to production inputs and trade competitiveness. However, the available official sources do not demonstrate a complete policy that has delivered each stated objective—protection of local production, food security, priority treatment for essential and investment goods—so the full pledge cannot be rated kept.

2 evidence sources · media.gov.lk, customs.gov.lk · latest 1 Apr 2026Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 2 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (2)

  • Budget document7 Nov 2025
    The 2026 Budget proposes revising Customs Import Duty rates from 0%, 15%, and 20% to 0%, 10%, 20%, and 30% from April 2026, with a phased removal of para-tariffs.
  • Sri Lanka Customs published the National Imports Tariff Guide 2026, stating that the applicable national levies take effect from 1 April 2026.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-105

Implement educational reforms in line with international standards aimed at fostering life skills and knowledge in a child-friendly educational environment.

Why this status: Partly delivered. A new student-centred, future-skills curriculum was officially launched for Grade 1 in 2026, replacing an examination-centred approach and including STEM, environmental activity, English and second-language learning. The reforms have not yet reached all grades, so a system-wide child-friendly education reform is incomplete.

1 evidence source · pmoffice.gov.lk · latest 29 Jan 2026Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 2 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (1)

  • Official release29 Jan 2026
    In January 2026, the Prime Minister's Office reported the official Grade 1 launch of new education reforms, including a student-centred approach, STEM and environment activities, and strengthened English and second-language teaching.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-078

Calculate minimum requirements for water storage and introduce methods for replenishing surface and underground water resources.

Why this status: The National Water Resources Policy provides for integrated water conservation and recharge measures, including preventing over-extraction and implementing water recharge. However, no public evidence was found that minimum water-storage requirements have been calculated and introduced as the pledge specifies.

1 evidence source · irrigationmin.gov.lk · latest 21 Feb 2026Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 2 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (1)

  • Official release21 Feb 2026
    The National Water Resources Policy provides for integrated conservation, prevention of over-extraction and implementation of water recharge measures.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-065

Organize grants and provide tax relief for theatre production and exhibition.

Why this status: Cabinet approved a Rs. 50 million 2026 allocation for projects promoting drama, performing arts and literature at national and regional level, including support for new drama productions and performances and facilities around cinema clusters. This is direct public support for theatre and related arts, but the promise also requires tax relief and the evidence does not show a dedicated tax-exemption package or full production-and-exhibition grant scheme.

1 evidence source · cabinetoffice.gov.lk · latest 17 Aug 2026Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 4 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (1)

  • Budget document17 Aug 2026
    A provision of Rs. 50 million was allocated in the 2026 annual budget for projects to revitalise drama, performing arts and literature at national and regional level, including a programme to encourage new drama productions and performances.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-053

Provide scholarships to eligible individuals for international training in all fields of art.

Why this status: Official India–Sri Lanka scholarship information identifies dedicated ICCR scholarships for Sri Lankan students and practitioners in classical music, dance, visual arts, theatre, painting and fine arts, coordinated in Colombo with Sri Lanka's Ministry of Education. This provides real international arts-training opportunities, but the evidence does not show a Sri Lankan-government-funded scholarship programme covering all art fields or the full eligibility and scale promised.

2 evidence sources · mohe.gov.lk, hcicolombo.gov.inFull assessment
Status assessed by AI on 4 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (2)

  • Official releaseDate not recorded
    The Ministry of Education publishes guidelines for foreign scholarships offered to Sri Lankan students by foreign countries and institutions.
  • Official releaseDate not recorded
    ICCR scholarships coordinated with the Ministry of Education include dedicated opportunities in classical music, Bharatanatyam, Kathak, Odissi, theatre, painting and fine arts, with tuition, living and other support.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-052

Establish a 'National Fund' for literature, cinema, drama, and other arts, supported continuously by government and private sector.

Why this status: The Central Cultural Fund already provides financial assistance to artistes, and Cabinet gave policy approval in March 2026 to amend its governing Act to suit present needs. The 2025 cultural budget also lists Rs. 52 million for assistance to artists. These measures provide public arts support, but they do not establish the promised continuously supported national fund backed by both government and the private sector.

2 evidence sources · cabinetoffice.gov.lk, gazette.lk · latest 16 Mar 2026Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 4 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (2)

  • Official release16 Mar 2026
    The Central Cultural Fund undertakes cultural development and provides financial assistance to artistes; Cabinet granted policy approval to amend the Central Cultural Fund Act in March 2026.
  • Budget documentDate not recorded
    The 2025 allocation for Assistance to Artists is Rs. 52 million.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-040

Establish an efficient pharmaceutical testing laboratory to ensure drug safety.

Why this status: The National Medicines Regulatory Authority currently operates a National Medicines Quality Assurance Laboratory that tests medicines and related products for quality, safety and efficacy. This substantially covers the function described in the pledge, but the laboratory predates the manifesto and the available evidence does not show that this government established or materially upgraded a new efficient pharmaceutical testing laboratory. The promise is therefore only partially creditable as a new delivery.

1 evidence source · nmra.gov.lkFull assessment
Status assessed by AI on 4 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (0)

None found.

Evidence against (1)

  • Official releaseDate not recorded
    National Medicines Quality Assurance Laboratory provides technical support for the quality assurance system and conducts laboratory tests to determine compliance with product quality, safety and efficacy requirements.
Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-038

Introduce a patient charter to ensure accountability of health workers and protect patients’ rights.

Why this status: The Ministry of Health publishes a Citizen Charter dated 5 February 2024, before the NPP government took office. A patient-rights/accountability document therefore exists, but the available official evidence does not show that this government introduced a new patient charter or strengthened the existing one. It should not be credited as a newly fulfilled pledge.

1 evidence source · health.gov.lk · latest 5 Feb 2024Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 4 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (0)

None found.

Evidence against (1)

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-037

Certify all laboratory tests and procedures in government health institutions according to ISO standards and provide 24/7 phone access to medical professionals and nurses.

Why this status: The official health policy repeats the ISO-certification component for laboratory tests and procedures, but does not include the manifesto’s separate 24/7 phone-access requirement for medical professionals and nurses. This is a partial match.

1 evidence source · cabinetoffice.gov.lk · latest 3 Mar 2025Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 4 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (1)

  • The secondary-care key activities include certifying all laboratory tests and procedures in government health institutions according to ISO standards; the source does not state the promised 24/7 phone access to medical professionals and nurses.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-029

Establish an organization to regulate food-related advertisements and implement a code of ethics to ensure advertisements provide accurate information to consumers.

Why this status: Food-advertising regulation has progressed: the Ministry of Health lists Food (Labelling and Advertising) Regulations 2026 among the current regulations, and the related 2026 draft has been opened for public and industry comment. This is relevant to accurate consumer information. However, there is no official evidence that a dedicated food-advertising regulator or the promised standalone code of ethics has been established, so the full pledge is only partially delivered.

2 evidence sources · eohfs.health.gov.lk · latest 11 Aug 2026Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 2 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (2)

  • Official release11 Aug 2026
    The Food Control Administration Unit published draft Food (Labelling and Advertising) Regulations 2026 for public and industry comments.
  • Official releaseDate not recorded
    The Ministry of Health lists the Food (Labelling and Advertising) Regulations 2026 among its current food regulations.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

Partly deliveredConfidenceHighPolicy & Legislation
NPP-2024-P-023

Establish an independent regulatory unit under the Ministry of Education to regulate the quality and fees of programs offered by existing private educational institutions.

Why this status: The official policy commits to an independent regulatory unit to regulate programmes at existing private educational institutions, but it does not include the manifesto’s separate fee-regulation requirement. This is a partial policy match, not full delivery.

1 evidence source · cabinetoffice.gov.lk · latest 3 Mar 2025Full assessment
Status assessed by AI on 4 Sept 2026. Not editorially reviewed.editorial verificationDispute this →
Inspect the evidence

Evidence for (1)

  • The policy lists establishing an Independent Regulatory Unit under the Ministry of Education to regulate programmes of existing private educational institutions; it does not specify fee regulation.

Evidence against (0)

None found.

How assessments are made

One model assembles a fixed evidence file from statements and official documents. A second model assesses the promise from that evidence file, so it cannot choose the evidence that supports its own conclusion.

A promise without evidence remains unassessed. Assessments are automatically published, not editorially reviewed, and every rated promise includes its date, assessor, sources, and a route to dispute the record.